TÉLÉRAMA.FR | GOING OUT IN PARIS

Télérama.frIt was during a haphazard stroll towards the Palais Royal’s gardens that I came across this restaurant opened by Caroll Sinclair, the chef and manager whom I had already written about around fifteen years ago. An atypical restaurant, it has a small dining room on the ground floor that features an aquarium and a rotisserie, and, in the basement, several vaulted rooms disguised as train wagons that can easily be made private. Although the menu items might appear to be on the pricier side, it’s because Carroll has put together an offer that focuses on organic products such as bluefin tuna, Madagascar shrimp, foie gras and carefully selected meats and fish. However, at lunchtime, a roast organic chicken (from the Bodin House located in France’s Vendée department) meal is usually served, accompanied with candied potatoes (sit down meals) or homemade chips (takeaway). And indeed, this Vendée chicken is simply delicious. If you want to discover Caroll’s wonderful cuisine, you really need to explore the various items on her menu!

VIEW THE ARTICLE

GAULT & MILLAU | RESTAURANT GUIDE

Gault & MillauDespite its deceptive simplicity, we never cease to be delighted by this extra touch of refinement. In the quiet Palais Royal area (right by the other side, towards the grand boulevards, which is bustling), a sensible traditional – yet personalised – French cuisine menu lends itself to the appetites of its regulars, all within a highly enlightened atmosphere. Organic chorizo terrine with pine nuts, grilled mackerel, grilled Montbéliard sausage with mashed potatoes, beef or duck lasagne, as part of a complete meal (26.50€). Pacojet ice creams, seven-hour lamb (an à la carte suggestion) and a delicious “one-minute” mille-feuille.

VIEW THE ARTICLE

MICHELIN RESTAURANTS | THE GUIDE

Guide MichelinBorn in Casablanca (Morocco), Caroll Sinclair moved to Paris during the 60s, when she was just 19 years old. An artist at heart, she first expressed her creative side as a stylist for a subsidiary of the “Dior” fashion house and then for “Ted Lapidus”.
A few years later, she established herself on the decorating scene: shop windows and interior decoration became second nature to her.
It was when she turned 29 that Caroll started innovating in the restaurant business. Cooking according to her intuition and passion, she became a truly great chef while working – initially – at a charming restaurant in Paris’ 18th district, “Chez toi ou chez moi” (Your place or mine).

VIEW THE ARTICLE

PETIT FUTÉ | FRANCE’S TOP ADDRESSES

Petit FutéA former designer at Dior, Caroll Sinclair became a chef during a new turn in her career. Initially, she became known – and recognised – at the Safran before opening the Table d’Hôte (Set Menu) restaurant right by the Palais Royal. Self-taught, she now strives to only work with carefully selected fresh products, originating mainly from organic farming. We love her seafood bisque with saffron and her Saint-Jacques whipped cream, the 7-hour lamb (a delight) and the roasted sea bass with mushrooms. But although we are paying tribute to her cuisine, we must also praise her willingness to open her restaurant 7 days a week. In addition, and whether or not you are an organic food enthusiast, it’s nice to find such a convincing restaurant in this neighbourhood, even on a Sunday.

VIEW THE ARTICLE

Télérama.fr | Sorties sur Paris

Télérama.frC’est au détour d’une balade vers les jardins du Palais-Royal que je suis tombé sur cette table de Caroll Sinclair, chef et patronne, dont je vous avais parlé il y a une petite quinzaine d’années. Une table atypique avec sa petite salle du rez-de-chaussée, avec aquarium et rôtissoire et, en sous-sol, plusieurs salles voûtées déguisées en wagon de train et propices aux privatisations. Si, à la carte, les prix grimpent, c’est que Caroll poursuit ses gammes autour de produits bio comme le thon rouge, les crevettes de Madagascar, le foie gras et des viandes et poissons triés sur le volet. Mais, le midi, c’est la formule poulet rôti bio (Maison Bodin en Vendée) qui est proposée, avec pommes de terre confites (sur place) ou chips maison (à emporter). Et, de fait, ce poulet vendéen est tout simplement savoureux. Si vous voulez découvrir la belle cuisine de Caroll, il faudra aussi piocher dans la carte !

Visionner l’article

Gault & Millau | Guide des restaurants

Gault & MillauCe supplément de raffinement, dans une apparente simplicité, nous plaît toujours autant. Dans le calme du Palais Royal (tout près de l’autre côté, vers les grands boulevards, c’est l’effervescence), le sage menu de cuisine française traditionnelle et pourtant personnalisée se prête à l’appétit des habitués, dans une ambiance de bonne éducation. Terrine de chorizo bio aux pignons, maquereau plancha, saucisse de Montbéliard grillée écrasé de pomme de terre, lasagne de boeuf ou de canard, dans une formule complète à 26,50 €. Glaces au Pacojet, agneau de sept heures en suggestion à la carte et bon millefeuille minute.

Visionner l’article

Michelin Restaurants | Le Guide

Guide MichelinNée au Maroc à Casablanca, Caroll Sinclair rejoint Paris à 19 ans dans les années 60. Artiste dans l’âme, elle exprime tout d’abord sa création en tant que styliste dans une filiale de « Dior », puis chez « Ted Lapidus ».
Quelques années plus tard, elle s’impose sur la scène de la décoration : les vitrines et les déco d’intérieur n’ont alors plus de secret pour elle.
C’est à l’âge de 29 ans que Caroll innove dans la restauration. Cuisinant plutôt par intuition et passion, elle devient un véritable grand chef en œuvrant dans un premier temps un ravissant resto dans le 18e à Paris, « Chez toi ou chez moi ».

Visionner l’article

Petit Futé | Bonnes adresses en France

Petit FutéCaroll Sinclair, ancienne styliste chez Dior notamment, est devenue chef cuisinière dans une seconde vie. Dans un premier temps, elle a été connue et reconnue au Safran avant d’ouvrir sa Table d’Hôte à deux pas du Palais Royal. Autodidacte, elle s’applique à ne travailler que des produits frais triés sur le volet, majoritairement issus de l’agriculture biologique. On adore sa bisque de crustacés au safran et sa crème fouettée aux Saint-Jacques, l’agneau de 7 heures (un régal) et le rôti de bar aux champignons. Mais si l’on salue sa cuisine, on ne peut également que s’incliner devant sa volonté d’ouvrir son restaurant 7 jours sur 7 et, que l’on soit ou pas adepte du bio, il est agréable dans ce quartier de dénicher une table aussi convaincante, même le dimanche.

Visionner l’article